Part of the MITEY Network · independent, not a bankFees retrieved November 1, 2026 · lists checked October 30, 2026

Savings account · Alterna Savings

Investment Savings Account: fees and true cost

Alterna Savings’s Investment Savings Account lists 0.05%–0.35% (tiered) interest and no monthly fee. On $10,000 that’s about $35 a year before tax, at the posted rate.

Provincial insurerOffered in ON

Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
Mitey the Yeti peeking out from behind the Investment Savings Account index cards
Posted rate0.05%–0.35% (tiered)as listed with FCAC
On $10,000$35 a yearinterest before tax
ProtectionProvincial insurerAlterna Savings

Interest at different balances

Estimated interest a year at the posted rate for each balance, before tax and fees
BalanceRateInterest a year
$1,0000.05%$1
$10,0000.35%$35
$50,0000.35%$175
Posted interest rates as listed with FCAC, retrieved November 1, 2026. Rates change often; promotional rates may not be included.
BalanceRate (annual)
$0 to $5,0000.05%
$5,000 and up0.35%

Every fee FCAC lists for this account

As listed in the FCAC Account Comparison Tool, retrieved November 1, 2026. Per-transaction fees apply once included transactions run out.
ItemFee
Monthly feeNo monthly fee
Included transactions1 a month
Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included)Not available
Online or mobile bill paymentNot available
Interac e-Transfer$2.50
Online transfer between your accounts$2.50
Own-bank ATM withdrawal$2.50
Withdrawal at another institution’s ATMNot available
ATM withdrawal in the United StatesNot available
ATM withdrawal in other countriesNot available
Debit purchase in the United StatesNot available
In-branch withdrawal$2.50
Bill payment in branchNot available
Cheque (as a payment)Not available
Mailed monthly statement$1.50
Non-sufficient funds (NSF)Not stated
Overdraft protection, monthlyNot stated
Overdraft protection, per useNot stated
Overdraft interestNot stated

Notes from the institution

No minimum balance required – start saving right away Access your funds whenever you need them – take advantage of other Alterna investment options as they arise Non-registered, RRSP, RRIF and TFSA eligible

Is the money protected?

FSRA (Ontario credit union). Credit union deposits are insured by the province, with limits that vary — see credit union insurance by province.

Other savings accounts at Alterna Savings

Source: FCAC Account Comparison Tool (data submitted by the institution), retrieved November 1, 2026 · Alterna Savings’s product page

Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.