Part of the MITEY Network · independent, not a bankFees retrieved November 1, 2026 · lists checked October 30, 2026

Savings account · Alterna Savings

Daily Interest Savings (Youth Start Package): fees and true cost

Alterna Savings’s Daily Interest Savings (Youth Start Package) lists 0.05% interest and no monthly fee. On $10,000 that’s about $5 a year before tax, at the posted rate.

Provincial insurerYouth (18 and under)Offered in ON

Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
Mitey the Yeti peeking out from behind the Daily Interest Savings (Youth Start Package) index cards
Posted rate0.05%as listed with FCAC
On $10,000$5 a yearinterest before tax
ProtectionProvincial insurerAlterna Savings

Interest at different balances

Estimated interest a year at the posted rate for each balance, before tax and fees
BalanceRateInterest a year
$1,0000%$0
$10,0000.05%$5
$50,0000.05%$25
Posted interest rates as listed with FCAC, retrieved November 1, 2026. Rates change often; promotional rates may not be included.
BalanceRate (annual)
$5,000 and up0.05%

Every fee FCAC lists for this account

As listed in the FCAC Account Comparison Tool, retrieved November 1, 2026. Per-transaction fees apply once included transactions run out.
ItemFee
Monthly feeNo monthly fee
Included transactions30 a month
Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included)No extra fee
Online or mobile bill paymentNo extra fee
Interac e-TransferNo extra fee
Online transfer between your accountsNo extra fee
Own-bank ATM withdrawalNo extra fee
Withdrawal at another institution’s ATM$2.00
ATM withdrawal in the United States$3.00
ATM withdrawal in other countries$5.00
Debit purchase in the United StatesNo extra fee
In-branch withdrawalNo extra fee
Bill payment in branchNo extra fee
Cheque (as a payment)Not available
Mailed monthly statementNo extra fee
Non-sufficient funds (NSF)Not stated
Overdraft protection, monthlyNot stated
Overdraft protection, per useNot stated
Overdraft interestNot stated

Notes from the institution

A free banking package for those youth under 18 years of age

Is the money protected?

FSRA (Ontario credit union). Credit union deposits are insured by the province, with limits that vary — see credit union insurance by province.

Other savings accounts at Alterna Savings

Source: FCAC Account Comparison Tool (data submitted by the institution), retrieved November 1, 2026 · Alterna Savings’s product page

Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.