Part of the MITEY Network · independent, not a bankFees retrieved November 1, 2026 · lists checked October 30, 2026

Savings account · YNCU

Emergency Savings: fees and true cost

YNCU’s Emergency Savings lists 1.6% interest and no monthly fee. On $10,000 that’s about $160 a year before tax, at the posted rate.

Provincial insurerOffered in ON

Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
Mitey the Yeti peeking out from behind the Emergency Savings index cards
Posted rate1.6%as listed with FCAC
On $10,000$160 a yearinterest before tax
ProtectionProvincial insurerYNCU

Interest at different balances

Estimated interest a year at the posted rate for each balance, before tax and fees
BalanceRateInterest a year
$1,0001.6%$16
$10,0001.6%$160
$50,0000%$0
Posted interest rates as listed with FCAC, retrieved November 1, 2026. Rates change often; promotional rates may not be included.
BalanceRate (annual)
$0 to $15,0001.6%

Every fee FCAC lists for this account

As listed in the FCAC Account Comparison Tool, retrieved November 1, 2026. Per-transaction fees apply once included transactions run out.
ItemFee
Monthly feeNo monthly fee
Included transactionsNone included (each one is charged)
Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included)Not available
Online or mobile bill paymentNot available
Interac e-TransferNot available
Online transfer between your accountsNo extra fee
Own-bank ATM withdrawalNo extra fee
Withdrawal at another institution’s ATM$2.00
ATM withdrawal in the United States$3.00
ATM withdrawal in other countries$3.00
Debit purchase in the United StatesNot available
In-branch withdrawalNo extra fee
Bill payment in branchNot available
Cheque (as a payment)Not available
Mailed monthly statement$2.50
Non-sufficient funds (NSF)Not stated
Overdraft protection, monthlyNot stated
Overdraft protection, per useNot stated
Overdraft interestNot stated

Notes from the institution

FCAC retrieved information for this account from publicly available information on the financial institution's website. Product features, fees, rates and eligibility requirements may change. Please verify current account details directly with the financial institution.

Is the money protected?

FSRA (Ontario credit union). Credit union deposits are insured by the province, with limits that vary — see credit union insurance by province.

Other savings accounts at YNCU

Source: FCAC Account Comparison Tool (data submitted by the institution), retrieved November 1, 2026 · YNCU’s product page

Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.