Part of the MITEY Network · independent, not a bankFees retrieved November 1, 2026 · lists checked October 30, 2026

Savings account · Shinhan Bank Canada

High Interest Savings Account: fees and true cost

Shinhan Bank Canada’s High Interest Savings Account lists 1%–1.5% (tiered) interest and no monthly fee. On $10,000 that’s about $100 a year before tax, at the posted rate.

CDICOffered in BC, ON

Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
Mitey the Yeti peeking out from behind the High Interest Savings Account index cards
Posted rate1%–1.5% (tiered)as listed with FCAC
On $10,000$100 a yearinterest before tax
ProtectionCDICShinhan Bank Canada

Interest at different balances

Estimated interest a year at the posted rate for each balance, before tax and fees
BalanceRateInterest a year
$1,0001%$10
$10,0001%$100
$50,0001%$500
Posted interest rates as listed with FCAC, retrieved November 1, 2026. Rates change often; promotional rates may not be included.
BalanceRate (annual)
$1,000 to $100,0001%
$100,000 to $1,000,0001.3%
$1,000,000 and up1.5%

Every fee FCAC lists for this account

As listed in the FCAC Account Comparison Tool, retrieved November 1, 2026. Per-transaction fees apply once included transactions run out.
ItemFee
Monthly feeNo monthly fee
Included transactionsUnlimited
Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included)No extra fee
Online or mobile bill paymentNot available
Interac e-Transfer$1.50
Online transfer between your accountsNo extra fee
Own-bank ATM withdrawalNo extra fee
Withdrawal at another institution’s ATM$1.50
ATM withdrawal in the United States$5.00
ATM withdrawal in other countries$5.00
Debit purchase in the United States$5.00
In-branch withdrawalNo extra fee
Bill payment in branchNot available
Cheque (as a payment)Not available
Mailed monthly statement$5.00
Non-sufficient funds (NSF)Not stated
Overdraft protection, monthlyNot stated
Overdraft protection, per useNot stated
Overdraft interestNot stated

Notes from the institution

FCAC retrieved information for this account from publicly available information on the financial institution's website. Product features, fees, rates and eligibility requirements may change. Please verify current account details directly with the financial institution.

Is the money protected?

CDIC member. Eligible deposits are covered up to $100,000 per category at each CDIC member — see the deposit safety tool.

Other savings accounts at Shinhan Bank Canada

Source: FCAC Account Comparison Tool (data submitted by the institution), retrieved November 1, 2026 · Shinhan Bank Canada’s product page

Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.