Savings account · Scotiabank
Savings Accelerator Account - Tax-Free Savings Account: fees and true cost
Scotiabank’s Savings Accelerator Account - Tax-Free Savings Account lists 0.25% interest and no monthly fee. On $10,000 that’s about $25 a year before tax, at the posted rate.
CDICTFSAOffered in all ten provinces
Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
Interest at different balances
| Balance | Rate | Interest a year |
|---|---|---|
| $1,000 | 0.25% | $3 |
| $10,000 | 0.25% | $25 |
| $50,000 | 0.25% | $125 |
| Balance | Rate (annual) |
|---|---|
| $0 and up | 0.25% |
Every fee FCAC lists for this account
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | No monthly fee |
| Included transactions | Branch: unlimited · self-serve: unlimited |
| Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included) | Not available |
| Online or mobile bill payment | Not available |
| Interac e-Transfer | Not available |
| Online transfer between your accounts | No extra fee |
| Own-bank ATM withdrawal | Not available |
| Withdrawal at another institution’s ATM | Not available |
| ATM withdrawal in the United States | Not available |
| ATM withdrawal in other countries | Not available |
| Debit purchase in the United States | Not available |
| In-branch withdrawal | $5.00 |
| Bill payment in branch | Not available |
| Cheque (as a payment) | Not available |
| Mailed monthly statement | Not available |
| Non-sufficient funds (NSF) | Not stated |
| Overdraft protection, monthly | Not stated |
| Overdraft protection, per use | Not stated |
| Overdraft interest | Not stated |
Is the money protected?
CDIC member. Eligible deposits are covered up to $100,000 per category at each CDIC member — see the deposit safety tool.
Other savings accounts at Scotiabank
- MomentumPLUS Savings Account — 0.4% interest
- Money Master Savings Account — 0.01% interest
- Savings Accelerator Account - Non-Registered Plans — 0.1% interest
- Savings Accelerator Account - Registered Plans (excluding TFSA) — 0.25% interest
Source: FCAC Account Comparison Tool (data submitted by the institution), retrieved November 1, 2026 · Scotiabank’s product page
Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.