Chequing account · National Bank of Canada
The Connected: fees and true cost
National Bank of Canada’s The Connected charges $15.95/mo, or $0 with a $4,500 minimum balance, with branch: 0 · self-serve: unlimited transactions. For our “Everyday” example that comes to $215 a year, #12 of 33 chequing accounts offered nationwide.
CDICOffered in all ten provinces
Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
What it would cost you in a year
| Usage | Fees a year | Why | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light Mostly card and app, small balance | $191 | Monthly fee $15.95 | 18 of 33 |
| Everyday Household account, a few e-Transfers | $215 | Monthly fee $15.95 | 12 of 33 |
| Heavy Lots of card, bill and e-Transfer payments | $239 | Monthly fee $15.95 | 13 of 33 |
| Branch and cheques Teller visits, cheques, paper statement | $353 | Monthly fee $15.95; extra transactions $10.00/mo | 21 of 26 |
Try your own numbers in the true-cost finder. Is keeping $4,500 in the account worth it? Run it in the account-fee calculator.
Every fee FCAC lists for this account
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | $15.95/mo, or $0 with a $4,500 minimum balance |
| Included transactions | Branch: 0 · self-serve: unlimited |
| Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included) | No extra fee |
| Online or mobile bill payment | No extra fee |
| Interac e-Transfer | No extra fee |
| Online transfer between your accounts | No extra fee |
| Own-bank ATM withdrawal | No extra fee |
| Withdrawal at another institution’s ATM | $2.00 |
| ATM withdrawal in the United States | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal in other countries | Not stated |
| Debit purchase in the United States | Not stated |
| In-branch withdrawal | $2.50 |
| Bill payment in branch | $2.00 |
| Cheque (as a payment) | No extra fee |
| Mailed monthly statement | $3.50 |
| Non-sufficient funds (NSF) | $10.00 |
| Overdraft protection, monthly | Not stated |
| Overdraft protection, per use | Not stated |
| Overdraft interest | Not stated |
Notes from the institution
Unlimited electronic transactions; branch withdrawals, transfers and bill payments are charged ($2.50 each, $2.00 bill payment service). $0 fixed monthly fee with a minimum daily balance of $4,500. Age-based prices ($0 for ages 0–24, $10.95 for 60 plus) and a $5 discount for eligible Mastercard holders are not reflected in the yearly cost.
Lower prices for some customers
| Who | Monthly fee | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 60 years and older: $5.00/month discount (regular $15.95) | $10.95 | National Bank of Canada |
| 18-24 years old, including students: $15.95 discount | No monthly fee | National Bank of Canada |
| 0-17 years old: $15.95 discount | No monthly fee | National Bank of Canada |
| Offer for newcomers (Connected-based, $15.95): year 1 $0 | No monthly fee | National Bank of Canada |
Is the money protected?
CDIC member. Eligible deposits are covered up to $100,000 per category at each CDIC member — see the deposit safety tool.
Cheaper for everyday use, at other institutions
- Wealthsimple Chequing (Wealthsimple) — $0 a year
- Personal Account (EQ Bank) — $0 a year
- Neo Chequing account (Essentials) (Neo Financial) — $0 a year
Other chequing accounts at National Bank of Canada
- The Minimalist — $3.95/mo, no balance waiver
- The Total — $28.95/mo, or $0 with a $6,000 minimum balance
Source: National Bank Fee Guide for Personal Banking Solutions (effective February 15, 2026), retrieved November 1, 2026. This institution isn’t listed in FCAC’s Account Comparison Tool. · National Bank of Canada’s product page
Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.