Savings account · Island Savings
Registered Variable Savings: fees and true cost
Island Savings’s Registered Variable Savings lists 0.3% interest and no monthly fee. On $10,000 that’s about $30 a year before tax, at the posted rate.
CDICOffered in BC
Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
Interest at different balances
| Balance | Rate | Interest a year |
|---|---|---|
| $1,000 | 0.3% | $3 |
| $10,000 | 0.3% | $30 |
| $50,000 | 0.3% | $150 |
| Balance | Rate (annual) |
|---|---|
| $0 and up | 0.3% |
Every fee FCAC lists for this account
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | No monthly fee |
| Included transactions | None included (each one is charged) |
| Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included) | $1.25 |
| Online or mobile bill payment | $1.25 |
| Interac e-Transfer | $1.25 |
| Online transfer between your accounts | No extra fee |
| Own-bank ATM withdrawal | $1.25 |
| Withdrawal at another institution’s ATM | $2.50 |
| ATM withdrawal in the United States | $5.00 |
| ATM withdrawal in other countries | $5.00 |
| Debit purchase in the United States | $1.25 |
| In-branch withdrawal | $1.25 |
| Bill payment in branch | $2.00 |
| Cheque (as a payment) | $1.25 |
| Mailed monthly statement | $2.00 |
| Non-sufficient funds (NSF) | Not stated |
| Overdraft protection, monthly | Not stated |
| Overdraft protection, per use | Not stated |
| Overdraft interest | Not stated |
Notes from the institution
n/a
Is the money protected?
CDIC, as a brand of Tru Cooperative Bank. Shares one CDIC limit with Tru’s other brands. Eligible deposits are covered up to $100,000 per category at each CDIC member — see the deposit safety tool.
Other savings accounts at Island Savings
- High Interest Savings — 0.64% interest
- Home Sweet Bonus® — 0.3% interest
- Savings First — 0.3% interest
Source: FCAC Account Comparison Tool (data submitted by the institution), retrieved November 1, 2026 · Island Savings’s product page
Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.