Savings account · FirstOntario Credit Union
U.S. Dollar Investment Savings: fees and true cost
FirstOntario Credit Union’s U.S. Dollar Investment Savings lists 0.15% interest and no monthly fee. On $10,000 that’s about $15 a year before tax, at the posted rate.
Provincial insurerOffered in ON
Fees retrieved November 1, 2026
Interest at different balances
| Balance | Rate | Interest a year |
|---|---|---|
| $1,000 | 0.15% | $2 |
| $10,000 | 0.15% | $15 |
| $50,000 | 0.15% | $75 |
| Balance | Rate (annual) |
|---|---|
| $0 and up | 0.15% |
Every fee FCAC lists for this account
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | No monthly fee |
| Included transactions | 1 a month |
| Debit purchase in Canada (beyond included) | Not available |
| Online or mobile bill payment | Not available |
| Interac e-Transfer | Not available |
| Online transfer between your accounts | $5.00 |
| Own-bank ATM withdrawal | Not available |
| Withdrawal at another institution’s ATM | Not available |
| ATM withdrawal in the United States | Not available |
| ATM withdrawal in other countries | Not available |
| Debit purchase in the United States | Not available |
| In-branch withdrawal | $5.00 |
| Bill payment in branch | Not available |
| Cheque (as a payment) | Not available |
| Mailed monthly statement | $2.00 |
| Non-sufficient funds (NSF) | Not stated |
| Overdraft protection, monthly | Not stated |
| Overdraft protection, per use | Not stated |
| Overdraft interest | Not stated |
Notes from the institution
FCAC retrieved information for this account from publicly available information on the financial institution's website. Product features, fees, rates and eligibility requirements may change. Please verify current account details directly with the financial institution.
Is the money protected?
FSRA (Ontario credit union). Credit union deposits are insured by the province, with limits that vary — see credit union insurance by province.
Other savings accounts at FirstOntario Credit Union
- Daily Interest Savings — 0.05% interest
- Daily Interest Savings 60+ — 0.05% interest
- High Interest eSavings — 0.6%–0.8% (tiered) interest
- Investment Savings — 0.3% interest
Source: FCAC Account Comparison Tool (data submitted by the institution), retrieved November 1, 2026 · FirstOntario Credit Union’s product page
Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. CanadianBanks.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any institution listed. Confirm details with the institution and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.